Skip to Content
Small Business

See 49 Contenders for Huntsville Chamber’s 29th-Annual Small Business Awards

HUNTSVILLE, Alabama – Mirror balls, disco music and platform shoes will fill the Von Braun Center North Hall next month during the Chamber of Commerce of Huntsville/Madison County’s 29th-annual Small Business Awards Celebration.

The event, which kicks off with drinks at 5 p.m. Sept. 4, will recognize small businesses that contribute to the community through their products, services or attributes. Registration information can be found here.

Last year’s western-themed event attracted approximately 1,000 Chamber members. See the 2013 winners.

A panel of CPAs will determine the winners without knowledge of the names of the nominees.

The top three finalists in each category will be announced, and then the ultimate winners will be recognized at the event Sept. 4. Here is the list of contenders for the 2014 Small Business Awards:

Small Business of the Year – 1 to 50 employees

(Winners will be chosen in the business/professional services, technology services and government contracting categories)

Aetos Systems

Axios Solutions, Inc. dba Secure Destruction Service

BID Designs

F1 Solutions

IronMountain Solutions

KTI Express Courier

LEAN Frog Business Solutions


nou Systems

Seabrook Solutions

Stoneridge Homes

System Dynamics International

Systems Products and Solutions

TriVector Services

Van Valkenburgh & Wilkinson Properties

Small Business of the Year – 51 to 350 employees

(One winner will be chosen)

Brockwell Technologies


GaN Corporation

KAYA Associates



Progress Bank

Nonprofit of the Year:

88.1 WAY-FM

AIDS Action Coalition/Davis Clinic

Christian Women’s Job Corps of Madison County

Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation

Madison County Medical Society

Nexus Energy Center

Semper Fi Community Task Force of North Alabama

Still Serving Veterans

The CARE Center

The Mental Health Center of Madison County

Von Braun Center for Science & Innovation

Westminster Christian Academy

Russell G. Brown Executive Leadership Award:

Sheila Cummings, Cummings Aerospace

Jeff Gronberg, deciBel Research

Byron Headrick, LEAN Frog Business Solutions

Cecilio Kentish, KTI Courier Express

Jonn Kim, GaN Corporation

Jim Reeb, PPT Solutions

J. Brent Romine, nou Systems

Hubert Thieblot, Curse

Richard P. Van Valkenburgh, Van Valkenburgh & Wilkinson Properties

Young Professional of the Year Award:

Lauren Battle, Lankford/Battle Allstate Agency

Ivey Bentley, Trident Technologies

Aaron Disouryavong, Buenavista Mexican Cantina & Thomas Pit Barbecue

Greg Glass, The GO Consulting Company

Mallory Johnson, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center

Veronica Tucker, United Way of Madison County

August 04, 2014

Lucy Berry | By Lucy Berry |

Small Business

A Future for BizTech? Uncertainty Looms for Huntsville’s High-Tech Business Incubator

Stay connected to what's happening in Alabama now.

  • Enter your email address to receive periodic updates on the evolution of business in Alabama.

Ready to start your company's next chapter in Alabama?

Alabama may be small in size, but its ability to accommodate businesses seeking success is vast. See why companies like Mercedes, Airbus, Hyundai, and Honda have decided to call Alabama home.

Find A Site Learn More About Alabama